Creativity, Self-development

The Ultimate Job Search – making the best out your career and life mission

Sponsored post by Holanda Conecta* and Conquista Coach

new-Logo-Home-Page2eugenialogo_big

Since I started with this blog I’ve been more than secretly hoping that opportunities were to come to me one way or another. Being unemployed, now longer than a year, makes every day more difficult to believe there will be a job out there for me. It’s a kind of depression not to be working, not only because I’m living in a kind of poverty, also the fact that I’m aware that all my talents and skills are not being used. It also has to do with a lack of self-fulfilment.

Of course, you can think this is just an excuse not to go for it. Like I heard many times, if I’m so desperate about having a job, there are plenty of possibilities out there. And I agree there are possibilities, but as I said at the beginning not all these job opportunities seem to be the right one for me. Believe me; I myself can’t afford to stay any longer without earning that money I need every month to pay my bills.

This blog has been opening me some doors, not only many people are actually reading what I have to say, there are others waiting to see how I evolve and wishing me all the best. Imagine my happiness when Eva Visser Plaza from Holanda Conecta, together with Eugenia Vega Montesino from Conquista Coach invited me to participate to her training ‘The Ultimate Job Search’ in Amsterdam on a whole day Saturday. This was the chance I was waiting for to learn new tips & tricks and interact with fellow job seekers! Every opportunity is always a possibility for change. This was clearly mine.

The Ultimate Job Search

I arrived early, even before the trainers were there. I was a bit nervous; thinking how was I going to fit in the group. Usually I’m in control of myself, I know that when it comes to social communication I’m really good at it, but participating in this sort of trainings is a bit of a scary thing.

When it comes to the ‘corporate world’ I have this feeling of uneasiness…  one of the reasons for that I can track back is my lack of university degrees. I know, this is kind of nonsense, but when it comes to this sort of occasions where well-dressed people are participating I tend to feel out of place.

As a general rule I always sit at the front row (I’m a short person) and at the centre, where I can have direct contact with the trainers. From this position I can easily have an overview of the people around me too.

The program – Topics & Tools

There was a full program awaiting us. I was really curious about it, although there were some topics & tools which looked more appealing to me and for my current situation.

By far the group was kind of heterogeneous, there were some people coming from the art/creative scene, business people, some career-changers and some job seekers too. This was a relief; it helped my prejudices vanish away. I was now merely focused on making the best of the training as a whole instead of focusing on the people. As a born leader, I know how important it’s to know to find your own place in a group, even if you are just slightly different than the rest.

On behalf of the trainers, Eva Visser Plaza and Eugenia Vega Montesino, I can say that the fact that both are Spanish speakers and mothers made it easier to relate to them.

Already by the introduction helped me that both trainers had a different approach; while Eva is more an earthly-root type, Eugenia has a clearly business way of presenting herself. Both fully professional, they knew exactly how to present the training as a whole. I felt a bit shy saying who I was and what was I doing. As a (not yet published) writer I sometimes get the feeling that what I strive for is never enough for a real job.

This is the question that always pops up, what is real job? And here I can tell you about the topics & tools, so important to define your career and focus on your search for a job. And not just a job, but the job you want.

The agenda was looking really good with interesting topics such as:   

  1. Elevator Pitch, Presenting yourself
  2. Define your skills/profile and job search
  3. Effective networking and mastering job interviews

Completed with these different tools:

  1. Myers-Briggs personality test
  2. Overcoming limiting beliefs
  3. Powerful online/offline profile
  4. Job search channels
  5. Your action plan

What can I say? At the very beginning I was more interested in topic number 2 and from the tools the most interesting seemed to be number 3 and 4. And although these tools & topics were useful ways on how to bring out the best of you, I found out that tool number 1 was a really insightful personality test, never heard of it before. And then I discovered I was an ISFP (Introversion, Sensing, Feeling and Perceiving) type, which falls under the category of Artists. With this test I’ve got a better idea about myself, not only I’m just slightly different than others, I also got my self-esteem a  big boost.  And believe me, I clearly needed that.

And then, the tool that helped me bring a better focus was number 2: overcoming limiting beliefs. This also relates to the test results. And this together with the visualization exercises and the interactivity with the other participants gave me a better idea of how to define my own search. By thinking about yourself as an onion, with different layers, when all that matters is how much you trust yourself to allow fear be part of you. And it’s up to us to choose if we want to live in fear or in trust. How important it is to create awareness from within yourself, because after all, that job you’ve been so desperate to find is more of a self-discovery of you as a whole person. You’re not just your job. And it’s not just about who you are, it’s about how you can contribute, what you can give.

What it helped me the best was getting tips from the other participants about my résumé, I took that as good advice and I’ve already changed it following many of the tips I’ve got that day. It was just a matter of common sense but oh so good to be part of a group of this sort. I absolutely recommend this training, it gives you both the idea about who you are and what are you looking for.

We are all unique. And sometimes is just about changing your mindset. Keep the faith and the motivation. That job, no matter if it’s a corporate or a creative one, is waiting for your call. And mine too.

I will be keeping you updated. Thanks for reading!

site-foto-Eva

Holanda Conecta, founded by Eva Visser Plaza, is a Rebalancing® and Coaching practice, with the objective to guide and inspire Professionals and Expats to have meaningful careers and lives by connecting with their talents, skills and passions. We offer Job Coaching, Career Coaching and  Rebalancing® Sessions.

Our approach is to create awareness about what you really want in your career and life and offer you tools and work on results in order to create this for yourself. We offer care, quality, personal attention and depth combined with a hands-on approach.

For more information click here: www.holandaconecta.nl

If you would like to invest in your professional career you could assist the events that are organized by the trainers under the name: Business Class Professionals. Next Tuesday 24th of September will the next one about how to Create a Powerful Network for yourself. For more information go to: http://www.holandaconecta.nl/en/business-class-professionals-meet-up/

6 thoughts on “The Ultimate Job Search – making the best out your career and life mission

  1. hola Georgina que bueno leerte nuevamente!!! Como te extrannamos en FB !!! VOLVEEEE GEORGINA VVOLVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE hehehehe. Espero que hayas tenido unas hermosas vacaciones y no es broma que se te extranna!

  2. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while
    people think about worries that they plainly do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out
    the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a
    signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

    1. Seo, thanks. I’m happy to know that my own ideas can be of such good use to others out there. You see, when I write I’m not thinking just about how to appear better or nicer, or more appealingly to what others may think. In my search of my true self I came against so much of my own justifications to the matters, that once I could put them down and write about it, I had a clearly idea about all that what I was searching for and couldn’t see right in front of my eyes. But guess what? It never ends! I’m still learning oh so much. Hope you enjoy other texts as well. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

